Yeovil Town through the shed
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Glossary > B.R.


British Railways (1948 - 64), British Rail (1964 - 94).  The nationalised UK railway system.  Under this, all railways were subject to the central control of the British Railways Board, although to make the structure easier to manage, it was divided into six regions as listed here.  Under British Railways, each region was also allocated a regional livery which was generally applied to buildings and railway station running in boards, totems and signs.  The colours are illustrated below.